Union Boys Join History of Cross-Country State Titles

LANE COMMUNITY COLLEGE, EUGENE – Add the 2021 Union boys’ cross-country team to a long history of Bobcats grabbing state team titles.

The Union team held off Bandon to claim a state team title after the running of the 2A/1A state boys cross country race on Saturday, Nov. 5 on the campus of Lane Community College in Eugene. The Bobcats ended the day with 39 points with Bandon scoring a 43-point total. The Heppner Mustangs finished third with 123 points.

The 2021 Bobcat boys join teams from 2018, 2017, 2015, 2012, 2008, 2007, 1997, and 1978 to give Union their ninth state boys cross country title.

 In their quest for a team title, the Bobcats were led by junior Taylor Fox and his fifth place with a time of 16 minutes, 55.30 seconds. Fox was followed by sophomore Eli Williams making it within the top ten with a tenth-place finish and a time of 17:34.60.

Running in his first state race, freshman Nathanael O’Reilly placed 15th and senior Skyler Perkins, running in his final state race, placed 17th. Junior Noah Platz finished 23rd and freshman David McDonald crossed the line in 24th. Sophomore Logan Pedro was 30th.

The best overall finish for eastern Oregon went to Heppner junior Trevor Nichols crossing the finish in third. Nichols posted a time of 16:48.20. Mustang senior Joseph Sherman finished 22nd with fellow senior Ed Ellsworth grabbing 35th. Senior Kamron Drury was 41st and senior Roen Waite placed 59th.

Individually, Pine Eagle senior Caleb Brown finished his high school cross-country career with a fourth place showing and a time of 16:49.70.

Weston-McEwen junior Alex McIntyre finished seventh and in Bickleton’s first entry in an Oregon cross country state event, junior Like Binfet placed eighth.

Team scores: 1. Union, 39. 2. Bandon, 43. 3. Heppner, 123. 4. Culver, 125. 5. Knappa, 132. 6. Glide, 146. 7. Western Christian, 149. 8. Jefferson, 194. 9. Neah-Kah-Nie, 227.

Individual results: 3. Trevor Nichols (Heppner), 16:48.20. 4. Caleb Brown (Pine Eagle), 16:49.70. 5. Taylor Fox (Union), 16:55.30. 7. Alex McIntyre (Weston-McEwen), 17:00.00. 8. Luke Binfet (Bickleton), 17:31.90. 10. Eli Williams (Union), 17:34.60. 15. Nathanael O’Reilly (Union), 17:55.40. 17. Skyler Perkins (Union), 18:12.20. 22. Joseph Sherman (Heppner), 18:32.40. 23. Noah Platz (Union), 18:33.50. 24. David McDonald (Union), 18:37.50. 30. Logan Pedro (Union), 18:59.90. 35. Ed Ellsworth (Heppner), 19:04.10. 41. Kamron Drury (Heppner), 19:36.10. 59. Roen Waite (Heppner), 22:13.30.