Teams battle at Rysdam

ELGIN – The lone team from Idaho, the Weiser Wolverines wrestling squad, topped a number of eastern Oregon teams as action wrapped up at the John Rysdam Memorial on Saturday, December 21.

Behind Weiser’s 185 points, Grant Union placed second with 128.5 points. La Grande (92 points), Elgin (90 points) and the combined team of Union and Cove (73 points) rounded out the top five in the standings. With 35 points, Adrian finished sixth while Imbler (26.5 points) was seventh. The combined team of Baker and Powder Valley was eighth.

Team scores: 1. Weiser, 185. 2. Grant Union, 128.5. 3. La Grande, 92. 4. Elgin, 90. 5. Union/Cove, 73. 6. Adrian, 35. 7. Imbler, 26.5. 8. Baker/Powder Valley, 4.

Individual results: 106: First place, Gage Martens (Union/Cove) over Dan Henry (Grant Union) by fall, 3:39. 113: First place, Garret Burns (Imbler) over Gabriel Hasbell (Elgin) by fall, 0:57. Third place, Weston Durfee (La Grande) over Ezra Bean (Grant Union) by fall, 2:12. 120: Third place, Luca Willins (La Grande) over Jace Buescher (Weiser) by forfeit. 126: Kenny Terry (Elgin) over Eli Bisenius (La Grande) by decision, 5-1. Third place, Dylan Clark (Grant Union) over Eli Sheedy (Grant Union) by forfeit. 132: Kooper vonBrethorst (Weiser) over Cole Shafer (La Grande) by technical fall, 28-12. Third place, Ben Henry (Grant Union) over Justin Peterson (Weiser) by fall, 2:48. 138: First place, Joe Lathrop (Elgin) over Braden Edwards (Weiser) by decision, 7-0. Third place, Eric Torres (Weiser) over Tanler Fuller (Grant Union) by fall 2:35. 145: Carter Blackburn (Union/Cove) over Reece McConnell (Elgin) by decision, 7-0. Third place, Maximus Kingsbury (Weiser) over Jack Strong (Grant Union) by decision, 604. 152: Matthew Morris (Weiser) over Wyatt Livingtson (La Grande) by decision, 11-4. Third place, Maddox Stevens (Weiser) over Levi Hammond (Union/Cove) by major decision, 14-6. 160: First place, Justin Hodge (Grant Union) over Clayton Beesley (Weiser) by decision, 6-0. Third place, Robert Sudderth (Weiser) over Frank Douglas (Grant Union) by decision, 5-4. 170: First place, Malachi Hoobery (Weiser) over Casey Cornford (La Grande) by fall, 3:44. Third place, Quinten Hallgarth (Grant Union) over Stetson Beesley (Weiser) by technical fall, 18-2. 195: First place, Rylee Willet (Weiser) over Clayton Hammond (Elgin) by fall, 3:51. Third place, Lamar Ward (La Grande) over Rafael Valdez (Weiser) by fall, 1:51. 220: First place, Toby Clow (Adrian) over Elijah Carter (Weiser) in overtime, 4-3. Third place, Michael Day (Union/Cove) over Oscar Cruz (Weiser) by fall, 1:36. 285: First place, Drew Lusco (Grant Union) over Mats Ollenhauer (Adrian) by fall, 0:25. Third place, Rylan Cox (Grant Union) over Tristan McMahill (Weiser) by fall, 2:24.