Spartans third at JO HI

JOSEPH – Claiming three individual titles, the wrestling squad of Pine Eagle finished in third place in the team standings competing at the JO HI on Saturday, January 4 in Joseph.

Culver ran away from the rest of the field, amassing 264 points in first place. Santiam Christian, with 127 points, was second, barely outpointing Pine Eagle’s 122 points. The combined team of Union and Cove was fifth with the combined team of Heppner and Ione picking up ninth. Adrian finished 11th and Echo/Stanfield wrapped up the day in 14th.

The championship match at 126 pounds featured two wrestlers from Pine Eagle. As the match ended, sophomore Chase Butner took the title after a major decision, 14-0 decision over teammate Will Seggerman.

At 132 pounds, junior Cutter Tanaka grabbed a5-2 decision over Santiam Christian’s Logan Beem for the medal. The third individual title for Pine Eagle went to junior Seth Butler, wrestling in the 182-pound class. Butler remained undefeated on the season after a pin over Santiam Christian’s Luke Mehlschau.

Photo Gallery: JO HI Day 1 – Kirsti Cason

Team results: 1. Culver, 264. 2. Santiam Christian, 127. 3. Pine Eagle, 122. 4. Joseph, 100.5. 5. Union/Cove, 81. 6. Elgin, 68. 7. Enterprise, 65.5. 8. Neah-Kah-Nie, 61. 9. Heppner/Ione, 57.5. 10. Imbler, 40.5. 11. Adrian, 39. 12. Pomeroy, 36. 13. Dayton, Wa., 23. 14. Echo/Stanfield, 14.

Individual results: 106: First place, Debren Sanabria (Culver) over Gage Martens (Union/Cove) by fall, 5:36. Third place, Jett Peterson (Joseph) over Virginia Tolman (Adrian) by fall, 1:01. 113: First place, Garrett Burns (Imbler) over Brody Piercy (Culver) by decision, 8-2. Third place, Roen Waite (Heppner/Ione) over Lawson Setzer (Santiam Christian) by fall, 4:44. 120: First place, Noel Navarro (Culver) over Coy Butner (Pine Eagle) by fall, 4:43. Fifth place, Gabe Hasbell (Elgin) over Brody Ray (Union/Cove) by fall, 0:47. 126: Chase Butner (Pine Eagle) over Will Seggerman (Pine Eagle) by major decision, 14-0. 132: First place, Cutter Tanaka (Pine Eagle) over Logan Beem (Santiam Christian) by decision, 5-2. Third place, Joe Lathrop (Elgin) over Dusty Melchoir (Pine Eagle) by fall, 1:24. Fifth place, Cody Fent (Enterprise) over Tim Marshall (Santiam Christian) by fall, 0:58. 138: First place, Trace Evans (Enterprise) over Carlos Norris (Dayton, Wa.) by technical fall, 17-2. Third place, Braeden Chapman (Culver) over Cutter Huff (Pine Eagle) by fall, 0:57. 145: First place, Anthony Hood (Culver) over Reece McConnell (Elgin) by decision, 6-1. Third place, Zeb Ramsden (Joseph) over Carter Blackburn (Union/Cove) by major decision, 9-0. Fifth place, Wade Bond (Adrian) over Jared Mehlschau (Santiam Christian) by fall, 2:49. 152: Third place, Levi Hammond (Union/Cove) over Gabe Wilson (Culver) by fall, 2:33. Fifth place, MyKail Foster (Imbler) over Austin Greenlee (Elgin) by fall, 3:35. 160: First place, Hunter Augustnovich (Culver) over Jace Coe (Heppner/Ione) by fall, 5:22. Third place, Conor Brosnan (Heppner/Ione) over Trevor Oxenrider (Santiam Christian) by fall, 3:52. Fifth place, Trevor Smith (Culver) over Logan Griffin (Adrian) by fall, 1:00. 170: Third place, Ronny Morello (Joseph) over Charlie Evans (Enterprise) by fall, 1:30. 182: First place, Seth Butler (Pine Eagle) over Luke Mehlschau (Santiam Christian) by fall, 2:32. 195: Third place, Toby Clow (Adrian) over Logan Swearingen (Echo/Stanfield) by fall, 2:34. 220: First place, Jonah Staigle (Joseph) over Michael Day (Union/Cove) by major decision, 14-6. Third place, Cole Brown (Culver) over Damon Nipper (Union/Cove) by fall, 2:24. 285: Third place, Drew Widener (Enterprise) over Wylie Johnson (Culver) by fall, 0:36.