Prospectors Lead East Baseball All-League Selections

This article brought to you Silvies River Charter School. Why choose Silvies? The hybrid model provides your student the best of both worlds. Free enrollment. Flexible schedule. Personalized education with great teachers. Learn at home and in learning centers. A safe and fun learning environment. Engaging field trips. $1200 in student learning funds. Early college opportunities for high school students.

Visit for more information or call 541-589-2401.

John L. Braese

After finishing the season with a perfect 12-0 record in the 2A/1A Special District 7, the combined team of Grant Union/Prairie City/Monument saw the team’s efforts rewarded with player of the year and coach of the year honors as well as 11 players named to the all-league awards.

Senior Talon Van Cleave departs his high school career as Player of the Year after voting by the district’s coaches. He was joined at the top of the listing by his coach, RC Huerta, as Coach of the Year.

Union/Cove named seven players to the listing including five named to first team. The TigerScots of Weston-McEwen/Griswold placed four players to the all-team listing while Pilot Rock matched that number with four players. Elgin finished the season with a lone player named.

Player of the Year – Talon Van Cleave (Grant Union)

Coach of the Year – RC Huerta (Grant Union)

First Team

Pitchers – Morgan Johnson (Cove/Union), Sean Roggiero (Weston-McEwen), Talon Van Cleave (Grant Union)

Catcher – Baryn Huerta (Grant Union)

First Base – Tee Ledbetter (Cove/Union) Kingdon Kirby (Grant Union)

Infielders – Jonah Jayne (Cove/Union), Chase Corwin (Pilot Rock), Sheldon Lenz (Grant Union)

Outfielders – Wyatt Burgess (Cove/Union), Deacon Gourlie (Pilot Rock), Eric Culley (Grant Union), Charley Knowles (Grant Union)

Utility – Micah Jayne (Cove/Union), Weston Suchorski (Grant Union)

Designated Hitter – Lucas Blood (Grant Union)

Second Team

Pitchers – Tracen Hamby (Pilot Rock), Sheldon Lenz (Grant Union)

Catcher – Micah Jayne (Cove/Union)

First Base – Tim Tavlor (Weston-McEwen)

Infielders – Morgan Johnson (Cove/Union), Sean Roggerio (Weston-McEwen) Weston Suchorski (Grant Union), Lucas Blood (Grant Union)

Outfielders – Trae Frank (Grant Union), Bennett Cavalletto (Weston-McEwen), Ryland Bell (Grant Union)

Utility – Kadin Allen (Elgin)

Designated Hitter – Brock Stelk (Pilot Rock)