Nave Named Player Of The Year, Davies Pitcher Of The Year For Special District 4 Softball

This article sponsored by Jamieson Produce and Y-1 Farms.

Jamieson Produce is an onion packing shed located in Vale, Oregon that packs and ships onions across the United States 12 months of the year. It has been in operation for nearly 40 years and currently employees about 50 people. Over the years our business has grown and to date we pack and ship over 100 million pounds of onions each year. We appreciate the quality onions our growers provide and the hard work our employees do every day. Jamieson Produce is owned by Doug and Terrie Maag and managed by Jeff Stubbs.

Y-1 Farms is located in Jamieson, Oregon and is owned by Doug and Terrie Maag and Corey and Mandi Maag. Various row crops such as onions, sugar beets, silage corn, alfalfa, and wheat are grown on nearly 2000 acres. The feed crops are used to provide feed for the feedlot they operate. Up to 12,000 head of cattle can be fed at Y-1 Farms. Y-1 Farms was established in 1985 but the Maag Family was farming before that. Doug farmed with his father, Warner Maag, for several years prior before purchasing his own farm. Y-1 Farms employs about 20 full-time employees to assist in operating the farm. We are extremely grateful for our employees and the hard work they provide.

John L. Braese

The Burns Hilanders ended the softball season as champions after playing to a perfect 12-0 district record behind the pitching of senior Ayla Davis. The senior Hilander departs her high school career after being named 3A Special District 4 Pitcher of the Year after voting was completed by the district’s coaches. Davies coach, Robert Medley, was chosen by his peers as Coach of the Year.

After finishing second in the district standings, the Outlaws of Enterprise/Joseph/Wallowa saw senior catcher Cooper Nave pick up Player of the Year honors.

In total, Burns saw eight players make the list. The Outlaws also named eight players to all-district honors.

Eight Vale players end the season with all-district honors and Nyssa sent two players to post season accolades. The Pioneers of McLoughlin have three players on the listing with the Vikings of Umatilla named six players after voting by the coaches. Three Riverside Pirates make the list.

The future of softball in the district appears bright as 25 players named will return next season. 15 of those named graduate this season as seniors.

Player of the Year – Cooper Nave (Enterprise/Joseph/Wallowa)

Pitcher of the Year – Ayla Davies (Burns)

Coach of the Year – Robert Medley (Burns)

First Team

Pitchers – Ayla Davies (Burns), Aimee Meyers (Enterprise/Joseph/Wallowa)

Catcher – Cooper Nave (Enterprise/Joseph/Wallowa)

Infield – Addy Leonetti (McLoughlin), Brooklyn Maag (Vale), Sophie Moeller (Enterprise/Joseph/Wallowa), Bailey Temple (Burns)

Outfield – Jocelyn Graham (Burns), Kacie Jacobs (Burns), Kaylonni Schaefer (Umatilla)

First Base – Brogan Payne (Vale)

Utility – Abigail Perkins (McLoughlin)

Second Team

Pitchers – Addie Cleaver (Nyssa), Emma Carpenter (Vale)

Catcher – Gracie Mello (Burns), Jessica Williams (Vale)

Infield – Cecilia April (Enterprise/Joseph/Wallowa), Aisling Gugiere (McLoughlin), Maddisyn Rico (Umatilla), Ashley Wright (Burns)

Outfield – Karly Baremore (Enterprise/Joseph/Wallowa), Kaylee Eaves (Enterprise/Joseph/Wallowa), Cara Gross (Burns)

First Base – Abby Straight (Enterprise/Joseph/Wallowa)

Utility – Bailey Blake (Vale)

Honorable Mention

Pitchers – Meghan Owens (Umatilla)

Catchers – Alycia Van Meter (Nyssa)

Infield – Izzy Maag (Vale), Bahlie Morales (Vale), Jaily Rodriguez-Gonzalez (Umatilla), Elaina Salgado (Riverside), Sara Wilson (Umatilla)

Outfield – Talluah April (Enterprise/Joseph/Wallowa), Brooke Gerard (Umatilla), Grace Johnson (Burns), McKenna Justus (Burns), Emily Vela (Nyssa)

First Base – Braelyn Cragun (Umatilla), Maycee Strebin (Riverside), Jenny Trujillo (Nyssa)

Utility – Chloe Gomez (Riverside), Analeesa Thomas (Burns)