Logsdon Picks Up POY, Bucks Dominate GOL Baseball All-League

This article sponsored by Jamieson Produce and Y-1 Farms.

Jamieson Produce is an onion packing shed located in Vale, Oregon that packs and ships onions across the United States 12 months of the year. It has been in operation for nearly 40 years and currently employees about 50 people. Over the years our business has grown and to date we pack and ship over 100 million pounds of onions each year. We appreciate the quality onions our growers provide and the hard work our employees do every day. Jamieson Produce is owned by Doug and Terrie Maag and managed by Jeff Stubbs.

Y-1 Farms is located in Jamieson, Oregon and is owned by Doug and Terrie Maag and Corey and Mandi Maag. Various row crops such as onions, sugar beets, silage corn, alfalfa, and wheat are grown on nearly 2000 acres. The feed crops are used to provide feed for the feedlot they operate. Up to 12,000 head of cattle can be fed at Y-1 Farms. Y-1 Farms was established in 1985 but the Maag Family was farming before that. Doug farmed with his father, Warner Maag, for several years prior before purchasing his own farm. Y-1 Farms employs about 20 full-time employees to assist in operating the farm. We are extremely grateful for our employees and the hard work they provide.

John L. Braese

A meeting of baseball coaches from the 4A Greater Oregon League concluded with Baker junior Jaxon Logsdon named as the Player of the Year for the recently completed baseball season.

Pendleton/Nixyaawii, after finishing the season with a perfect 12-0 league record, picked up Pitcher of the Year with Evan Lehnert and Coach of the Year with Justin Speer.

In addition to Lehnert, the Buckaroos named seven players to honors including five picking up first team honors.

La Grande found eight players on the all-league roster including four picking up first team honors.

Logsdon was joined on the list by three teammates from Baker after the voting, two of those first team.

Ontario called the season to a close with three second team honorees.

Player of the Year – Jaxon Logsdon (Baker)

Pitcher of the Year – Evan Lehnert (Pendleton)

Coach of the Year – Justin Speer (Pendleton)

First Team

Utility – Quinten Theiler (La Grande)

Designated Hitter – Carter Seaquist (La Grande)

Pitcher – Kaden Heinrich (Pendleton)

Catcher – Jace Otteson (Pendleton)

First base – Will O’Connell (Baker)

Infield – Colson Primus (Pendleton), Tugg McQuinn (Pendleton), Kai Carson (La Grande)

Outfield – Colin Harrington (Pendleton), Carter Peasley (La Grande), Ethan Fletcher (Baker)

Second Team

Utility – Rayden Martinez (Ontario)

Designated hitter – Carlos Lumbreras (Ontario)

 Catcher – Ryder Mcllmoil (La Grande)

First base – Marshall Begin (La Grande)

Infield – Aldo Duran (Baker), Landon Hood (La Grande), Connor Cook (Pendleton)

Outfield – Hayden Dodge (Pendleton), Connor Webster (Ontario), Griffin Mcllmoil (La Grande)