La Pine Boys Join Girls For Sweep Of Culver Invitational

CULVER – The ride home for the entire La Pine wrestling squad was upbeat as the boys joined the girls with a team title after the Culver Invitational wrapped up action on Saturday, Dec. 11.

The Hawks ended the tournament with 241.5 points to grab the team title. Heppner placed ninth with a point total of 84, just ahead of Grant Union’s 83 points. Pine Eagle was 11th followed by Riverside and Irrigon. With 52 points, Adrian finished 15th and Joseph was 22nd.

La Pine junior Tyson Flack remained undefeated for the season at 11-0 and took first place at 106 pounds at the tournament. Flack was joined by teammate Dylan Mann, winning at 138 pounds and also undefeated for the season. The third individual title for the Hawks came the way of a freshman. Landyn Philpott, wrestling at 120 pounds, took a major decision victory over Culver’s Debren Sanabria for his medal.

Wrestling Action Photos

The 1A Adrian Antelopes also saw an individual title holder as senior Toby Clow pinned Glide’s Jaden Rondeau in the 220-pound class. With the win, Clow is perfect for the year.

Team scores: 1. La Pine, 241.5. 2. Culver, 233.0. 3. Madras, 222.0. 4. Illinois Valley, 168.0. 5. Crook County, 162.0. 6. Mazama, 151.0. 7. Rainer, 111.5. 8. Glide, 90.5. 9. Heppner, 84.0. 10. Grant Union, 83.0. 11. Pine Eagle, 68.5. 12. Riverside,            66.0. 13. Irrigon, 58.5. 14. Sisters, 54.0. 15. Adrian, 52.0. 16. Lowell,          48.0. 17. Glendale, 28.0. 18. Bonanza, 27.0. 19. Caldera, 19.0. 19. Camas Valley, 19.0. 21. Chiloquin, 12.5. 22. Joseph, 12.0. 23. North Lake, 11.0.

106: 1st Place Match; Tyson Flack (La Pine) defeated Hunter Hendricks (Rainer) by decision, 7-4. 3rd Place Match; Michael Miller (Illinois Valley) defeated Duke Wentzel (Crook County) by fall, 3:39.

113: 1st Place Match; Mason Lacey (Crook County) defeated Riley Flack (La Pine) by fall, 4:19. 5th Place Match; Anthony Castaneda (Riverside) defeated Kaiden Blacklock (La Pine) by fall, 5:27.

120: 1st Place Match; Landyn Philpott (La Pine) defeated Debren Sanabria (Culver) by major decision, 11-2. 3rd Place Match; Camron Vail (Crook County) defeated Roen Waite (Heppner) by fall, 3:24. 5th Place Match; Mateo Rockwell (Riverside) defeated Conner German (Bonanza) by fall, 1:36.

126: 3rd Place Match; Santos Navarro (Culver) defeated Ricky Aaron (La Pine) by fall, 5:01.

132: 5th Place Match; James Denson (Pine Eagle) defeated Justin Mitchell (Crook County) by fall, 1:06.

138: 1st Place Match; Dylan Mann (La Pine) defeated Coy Butner (Pine Eagle) by fall, 1:08. 3rd Place Match; Christian Roberts (Rainer) defeated Ruben Torres (Riverside) by fall, 1:51. 5th Place Match; Malacai Alire (Madras) defeated Tristan Clarry (Grant Union) by fall, 0:57.

145: 1st Place Match; Logan Chapman (Rainer) defeated Chase Butner (Pine Eagle) by fall, 3:06.

152: 3rd Place Match; Jacob Ayala (Irrigon) defeated Collin Switzler (Madras) by decision, 8-7.

160: 1st Place Match; Brady David (Madras) defeated Garrett Forbes (La Pine) by decision, 8-6.

170: 1st Place Match; Isaiah Toomey (Culver) defeated Justin Hodge (Grant Union) by decision, 10-7. 3rd Place Match; Cael White (Madras) defeated Cache Montgomery (La Pine) by fall, 3:11.

182: 1st Place Match; Reece White (Madras) defeated Dylan Hankey (La Pine) by decision, 10-4. 3rd Place Match; Corbyn Kangiser (Glide) defeated Chase Andrade (Adrian) by fall, 1:40. 5th Place Match; Conor Brosnan (Heppner) defeated Rowan Files (Lowell) by fall, 0:40.

195: 3rd Place Match; Cade Cunningham (Heppner) defeated Jesus Montes (Riverside) by fall, 1:04.

220: 1st Place Match; Toby Clow (Adrian) defeated Jaden Rondeau (Glide) by fall, 0:32.

285: 1st Place Match; Wylie Johnson (Culver) defeated Rylan Cox (Grant Union) by fall, 4:22. 3rd Place Match; Isaac Pena (Mazama) defeated Kadin Yeager (La Pine) by fall, 1:39.