La Grande Wrestlers Take District Title, State Contenders Named

This article brought to you by CAPS Auto Parts with stores in Baker (541-523-6366), Ontario (541-889-9250), and Vale (541-473-2119). Locally owned and Operated CAPS focuses on servicing the agricultural community Eastern Oregon. CAPS is a Carquest auto parts store, Husqvarna dealership and most recently a Point S tire Dealership. See us for all of your Agricultural needs.

SISTERS – After a two-day run in Sisters, we now know two things. The La Grande boys wrestling team is tops among teams in the 4A Special District 4 and the Tigers, Baker/Powder Valley, McLoughlin/Weston-McEwen and Ontario squads are sending a large busload of grapplers to the state 4A tournament.

Beginning Friday, Feb. 11 and wrapping up action on Saturday, Feb. 12, La Grande outdistanced the rest of the field with a 447-point total. The Bulldogs of Baker/Powder Valley placed second with 303 points and Madras was third, putting up 208.5 points.

Ontario placed fourth with 146 points and McLoughlin/Weston-McEwen was sixth after 52 scored over the two days.

The district tournament also served as a qualifier for the upcoming state tournament with the top four finishers in each division heading to Salem on Feb. 25.

Team scores: 1. La Grande, 447.0. 2. Baker/Powder Valley, 303.0. 3. Madras, 208.5. 4. Ontario, 146.0. 5. Sisters, 124.0. 6. McLoughlin/Weston McEwen, 52.0. 7. Corbett,             39.0. 8. Gladstone, 34.5.

106-1st Place Match: Mason Wolcott (La Grande) defeated Joey Duncan (Baker/Powder Valley) by fall, 1:44. 3rd Place Match: Michael Young (Madras) defeated Bobby Gulzow (La Grande) by major decision, 14-2. 4th Place Match: Bobby Gulzow (La Grande) defeated Nick Sandberg (Ontario). 5th Place Match: Nick Sandberg (Ontario) received a bye.

113-1st Place Match: Aldo Duran (Baker/Powder Valley) defeated Marcus Chamberlain (Baker/Powder Valley) by fall, 1:34. 3rd Place Match: Jake Lawrence (Madras) defeated Nathan Marcelino (Ontario) by decision, 1-0. 4th Place Match: Nathan Marcelino (Ontario) defeated Carter Van Meter (Sisters). 5th Place Match: Carter Van Meter (Sisters) defeated Dallin Perry (La Grande) by fall, 4:50.

120-1st Place Match: Kai Carson (La Grande) defeated Landon Perry (La Grande) by technical fall, 17-0. 3rd Place Match: Sage Darlington (Baker/Powder Valley) defeated Jayvon Tovar (Madras) by fall, 3:19. 4th Place Match: Jayvon Tovar (Madras) defeated Ethan Calderon (Ontario). 5th Place Match: Ethan Calderon (Ontario) defeated Chase Strawbridge (Madras) by fall, 1:27.

126-1st Place Match: Tavian Kehr (La Grande) defeated Jaxson Leonard (La Grande) by fall, 3:54. 3rd Place Match: Cole Hester (Baker/Powder Valley) defeated Samuel Nelson (Baker/Powder Valley) by fall, 5:06. 4th Place Match: Samuel Nelson (Baker/Powder Valley) defeated Jayden Esquiro (Madras).

132-1st Place Match: Brysen Penaloza (La Grande) defeated Cooper Yensen (McLoughlin/Weston McEwen) by fall, 3:19. 3rd Place Match: Jamis Gonzalez (Ontario) defeated Riley Martin (Baker/Powder Valley) in overtime, 9-5. 4th Place Match: Riley Martin (Baker/Powder Valley) defeated Carson Brown (Sisters). 5th Place Match: Carson Brown (Sisters) defeated Fabin Cruz (Madras) by fall, 5:41.

138-1st Place Match: Joshua Collins (La Grande) defeated Dominick Carratello (La Grande) by major decision, 12-3. 3rd Place Match: Malacai Alire (Madras) defeated Hayden Kunz (Sisters) by decision, 9-4. 4th Place Match: Hayden Kunz (Sisters) defeated Marcos Rodriguez (Ontario). 5th Place Match: Marcos Rodriguez (Ontario) defeated Logan Ayers (Corbett) by fall, 2:47.

145-1st Place Match: Braden Carson (La Grande) defeated Ben Cooper (Sisters) by fall, 5:14. 3rd Place Match: Gavin Stone (Baker/Powder Valley) defeated Jonas Porter (Gladstone) by fall, 1:00. 4th Place Match: Jonas Porter (Gladstone) defeated Austin Higgins (La Grande). 5th Place Match: Austin Higgins (La Grande) defeated Dolan Pool (Sisters) by technical fall, 20-4.

152-1st Place Match: Ruben Hernandez (Ontario) defeated Wyatt Maffey (Sisters) by technical fall, 21-4. 3rd Place Match: Ridge Kehr (La Grande) defeated Collin Switzler (Madras) by fall, 1:53. 4th Place Match: Jared Isaacson (La Grande) defeated Collin Switzler (Madras) by fall, 4:24. 5th Place Match: Jared Isaacson (La Grande) defeated Maddox Leith-Ross (Corbett) by fall, 0:52.

160-1st Place Match: Cael White (Madras) defeated Eli Bisenius (La Grande) by fall, 1:13. 3rd Place Match: MyKail Foster (La Grande) defeated Ryan Brown (Baker/Powder Valley) due to forfeit. 4th Place Match: Ryan Brown (Baker/Powder Valley) defeated Brady David (Madras). 5th Place Match: Brady David (Madras) defeated Scott Henderson (Sisters) by technical fall, 19-4.

170-1st Place Match: Wyatt Livingston (La Grande) defeated Cole Shafer (La Grande) in overtime, 5-3. 3rd Place Match: Isaiah Martinez (Madras) defeated Alex Arreola (Madras) by fall, 3:06. 4th Place Match: Alex Arreola (Madras) defeated Cody Eskew (Baker/Powder Valley). 5th Place Match: Cody Eskew (Baker/Powder Valley) defeated Jayden Vogt (Sisters) by fall, 1:32.

182-1st Place Match: Reece White (Madras) defeated Jarett Armstrong (La Grande) by fall, 2:43. 3rd Place Match: Adrian Allen (Baker/Powder Valley) defeated Demarcus Scott (Madras) by fall, 0:50. 4th Place Match: Demarcus Scott (Madras) defeated Ethan Morgan (Baker/Powder Valley). 5th Place Match: Ethan Morgan (Baker/Powder Valley) defeated Preston Westenskow (La Grande) by fall, 1:16.

195-1st Place Match: Brody MacMillan (La Grande) defeated Gauge Bloomer (Baker/Powder Valley) by fall, 5:22. 3rd Place Match: Brodey Kitzmiller (Gladstone) defeated Alexander Sigrah (Ontario) by fall, 2:19. 4th Place Match: Alexander Sigrah (Ontario) defeated Nicholas Sigrah (Ontario). 5th Place Match: Nicholas Sigrah (Ontario) defeated Jacob Washington (Sisters) by decision, 13-7.

220-1st Place Match: Tanner Wells (McLoughlin/Weston McEwen) defeated Alex Ritter (Baker/Powder Valley) by fall, 2:26. 3rd Place Match: Henry Rard (Sisters) defeated Tommy Ishida (Ontario) by decision, 7-5. 4th Place Match: Tommy Ishida (Ontario) defeated Jayden Clark (Baker/Powder Valley). 5th Place Match: Jayden Clark (Baker/Powder Valley) defeated Kenai Huff (La Grande) by fall, 0:54.

285-1st Place Match: Jaden Martin (Baker/Powder Valley) defeated Ian Brown (Corbett) by fall, 0:31. 3rd Place Match: Jose Moncada (Ontario) defeated Russell Walden (Baker/Powder Valley) by fall, 0:32. 4th Place Match: Russell Walden (Baker/Powder Valley) defeated Jorge Ortiz (Ontario). 5th Place Match: Jorge Ortiz (Ontario) defeated Cain End (La Grande) by fall, 2:30.

Special thanks to Kaylene Chamberlain for the photos.

Before you go! If you would like to support continuing and expanded high school sports coverage in eastern Oregon for as little as $1 a month click below! Thank you!