Hilanders state wrestling champs, Nyssa third

PORTLAND – Propelled by four individual state titles, the Burns wrestling team was crowned the best of the 3A teams on Saturday as the OSAA state wrestling tournament came to a close on Saturday in Portland.

The Hilanders ran away from the rest of the competition, putting up 180 points. Dayton, in second, finished with 144.5 points and Nyssa placed third with 112 points. La Pine cracked the top five in fifth place. Vale placed 16th and Riverside was 20th followed by Irrigon in 22nd.

Burns was led by state individual titles from sophomore Oliver Barnes (106 pounds), junior Justin Winn (132 pounds), junior Cody King (145 pounds) and sophomore Wyatt Epling (160 pounds). The Hilanders also scored points from a second place finish by senior Michael Winn (195 pounds) and third place finishes by freshman Hunter Kemper (138 pounds) and senior William Johnson (160 pounds).

With the talent and age of the Burns team, the Hilanders should be a favorite for a repeat performance next year.

The Nyssa Bulldogs claimed three individual titles. Senior Elijah Cleaver finished his high school career with a 40-4 mark for the season while fellow senior Adam Simpson posted only a single loss for the year at 43-1. Nyssa junior Bryan Flores was the other state title holder for Nyssa.

Photo Gallery: State Wrestling Day 1 – Kirsti Cason

Photo Gallery: State Wrestling – Ed Peterson

Photo Gallery: State Wrestling Day 2 – Kirsti Cason

Team scores: 1. Burns, 180. 2. Dayton, 144.5. Nyssa, 112. 4. Willamina/Falls City, 77.5. 5. La Pine, 73. 6. Harrisburg, 64. 7. Cascade Christian, 61. 7. Scio, 61. 9. Rainier, 50. 10. Taft, 49. 11. Santiam Christian, 46. 12. Pleasant Hill, 33. 13. South Umpqua, 28. 13. Warrenton, 28. 15. Amity, 23. 16. Vale, 19. 17. Sutherlin, 15. 18. Yamhill-Carlton, 14. 19. Brookings-Harbor, 13. 20. Douglas, 10. 20. Riverside, 10. 22. Irrigon, 8. 23. Clatskanie, 4.

Individual results: 106: First place match, Oliver Barnes (Burns) over Carmelo Farfaglia (La Pine) by decision, 3-0. 120: First place match, Moses Mercier (Willamina/Falls City) over Dylan Mann (La Pine) by decision, 6-3. Third place match, Jakob Jarvis (Yamhill-Carlton) over Fernando Ortega (Riverside) by decision, 7-4. 126: Third place match, Nathan Kimball (Vale) over Logan Chapman (Rainier) by fall, 2:43. 132: First place match, Justin Winn (Burns) over Raul Ruiz (Nyssa) by decision, 3-2. 138: Third place match, Hunter Kemper (Burns) over Hunter Zeiher (Scio) by fall, 3:03. 145: First place match, Cody King (Burns) over Brandon Isaacson (Rainier) by decision, 9-6. 152: First place match, Elijah Cleaver (Nyssa) over Riley Ellis (Taft) by forfeit. 160: First place match, Wyatt Epling (Burns) over Jacob Mask (Scio) by fall, 5:41. Third place match, William Johnson (Burns) over Dylan Hankey (La Pine) by fall, 1:19. 182: First place match, Adam Simpson (Nyssa) over Korbin Howell (Rainier) by major decision, 13-3. 195: First place match, Samuel Irwin (Warrenton) over Michael Winn (Burns) by decision, 7-5. 220: First place match, Bryan Flores (Nyssa) over Leithan Briggs (Harrisburg) by decision, 8-5. Third place match, Daniel Underwood (La Pine) over Jesse Brecht (Douglas) by fall, 2:23. 285: Third place match, Marlin Miles (Nyssa) over Averi Winn (Brookings-Harbor) by major decision, 12-2.