Hilanders Dominate, Vikings and Honkers Make Showing In 3A All-State VBall

Malheur Drug is your one-stop shop in Vale. We’re here to provide you with prescription medications, OTCs, sporting goods, electronics, gifts, and more! Give us a call today! (541) 473-3333

John L. Braese

The talented group of Hilanders taking the court for the Burns volleyball team came up one match short of a state title, but the individual accomplishments were recognized as four teammates were named first team as the 3A All-State team was announced.

Macy Temple was the lone Hilander senior to grab first team honors. In bad news for the competition, Burns will see the return of first team juniors Ashley Wright and Mackenzie King. In addition, Hilanders sophomore Akylah Kaimo will join Wright and King back on the court next season, making Burns returning with three first team honorees.

Vale junior middle blocker Sadie Graviet will also return next season after picking up honorable mention listing on the all-state team.

The Honkers of Lakeview will also see a returning player next season with all-state credentials as outside hitter Kenna Stratton also received a nod to honorable mention.

Valley Catholic, this past season’s state champions, received two nods for all-state recognition. Sisters grabbed both player of the year and coach of the year awards.

Player of the Year

Gracie Vohs (Sisters)

Coach of the Year

Rory Rush (Sisters)

First Team

Kelsey Dunn (St. May’s)

Frances Eisenhardt (Valley Catholic)

Akylah Kaino (Burns)

Mackenzie King (Burns)

Sam McDonald (Horizon Christian)

Macy Temple (Burns)

Gracie Vohs (Sisters)

Ashley Wright (Burns)

Second Team

Raegan Anderson (Horizon Christian)

Hailey Evans (Banks)

Maddie Fields (Santiam Christian)

Cheyenne Green (Pleasant Hill)

Elise Linderman (Santiam Christian)

Gracelyn Myhre (Sisters)

Sophia Rewers (Valley Catholic)

Desiree Tupua (Siuslaw)

Third Team

Claire Crawford (Pleasant Hill)

Joya Euhus (Santiam Christian)

Carrie Jones (Scio)

Elsa McDermott (Catlin Gabel)

Lizabelle Osborn (Creswell)

Hayley Schaaf (Catlin Gabel)

Madison Todd (Cascade Christian)

Madison Walker (Banks)

Addison Wessels (Scio)

Honorable Mention

Haley Ayala (Sheridan)

Albie Borovansky (St. May’s)

Kya Ellis (Yamhill-Carlton)

Poppy Freeman (Cascade)

Sadie Graviet (Vale)

Molly Griffin (Cascade Christian)

Adelle Petraitis (Yamhill)

Haley Saunders (Sutherlin)

Cayton Smith (Oregon Episcopal)

Kenna Stratton (Lakeview)

Kadence Soto (Scio)

Gabby Thom (Westside Christian)

Taylor Young (Corbett)

 Kadence Soto (Scio)

Before you go! If you would like to support continuing and expanded high school sports coverage in eastern Oregon for as little as $1 a month click below! Thank you!