Burns’ Wright Voted Player Of Year

Bentz Insurance provides premier coverage for farm, ranch, business, home, and auto.

Serving clients throughout the western Treasure Valley including Ontario, Burns, Vale, Nyssa, Jordan Valley, Baker, John Day, as well as western Idaho. Give us a call at 541-473-4210

John L. Braese/easternoregonsports.com

Burns senior Ashley Wright closed out her high school basketball career with the Player of the Year award after the coaches for the girls’ basketball teams of the 3A Eastern Oregon League met and voted on Monday, Feb. 12.

Randy Seals, after coaching the Vale Vikings to a perfect 10-0 league record, was voted by his peers as Coach of the Year.

The starting five for the Vikings all received all-league honors led by first team honorees Haylee Cleaver, Halle Peterson and Kesley Stepleton. Stepleton is the lone member of the first team not a senior.

Honorable mention honors for Vale went to Bella Johnson and Kacie Jacobs.

The Nyssa Bulldogs placed Clarita Arizmendi on first team joined by Brynlee Hartley, Clarissa Arizmendi and Morgan Johns on second team. Senior Ambrie Draper picked up honorable mention.

In addition to Wright named as Player of the Year, Burns also saw Caitlyn Horrell and Bailey Temple on second team. In addition to Temple, a freshman, a second freshman, Amaya Ballard was named to the honorable mention listing.

Riverside’s Crystal Sanchez also finishes her senior season with honors after picking up second team honors. Fellow senior Julie Magana was named to honorable mention.

McLoughlin senior Madi Perkins wraps up her high school career with a first team placement. Pioneer junior Riley Herndon was named to honorable mention.

Umatilla youth all picked up honorable mention listing. Juniors Liliana Zuniga and Alyssa Bow joined freshman Alyiah Howard on the list.

Player of the Year – Ashley Wright (Burns)

Coach of the Year – Randy Seals (Vale)

First Team

Haylee Cleaver (Vale)

Clarita Arizmendi (Nyssa)

Halle Peterson (Vale)

Kesley Stepleton (Vale)

Madi Perkins (McLoughlin)

Second Team

Brynlee Hartley (Nyssa)

Crystal Sanchez (Riverside)

Caitlyn Horrell (Burns)

Clarissa Arizmendi (Nyssa)

Bailey Temple (Burns)

Morgan Johns (Nyssa)

Honorable Mention

Riley Herndon (McLoughlin)

Bella Johnson (Vale)

Kacie Jacobs (Vale)

Amaya Ballard (Burns)

Liliana Zuniga (Umatilla)

Alyssa Bow (Umatilla)

Abby Perkins (McLoughlin)

Julie Magana (Riverside)

Alyiah Howard (Umatilla)

Ambrie Draper (Nyssa)

Before you go! If you would like to support continuing and expanded high school sports coverage in eastern Oregon for as little as $1 a month click below! Thank you!