Burns Volleyball Dominates EOL All-League

Malheur Drug is your one-stop shop in Vale. We’re here to provide you with prescription medications, OTCs, sporting goods, electronics, gifts, and more! Give us a call today! (541) 473-3333

John L. Braese

BAKER – After playing to a perfect 10-0 3A-6 Eastern Oregon League record and claiming the league title, the Burns volleyball team claimed both co-player of the year award and coach of the year after a meeting of league’s coaches on Tuesday, Oct. 31 in Baker.

The Player of the Year award is shared by Hilander teammates senior Ashley Wright and junior Akylah Kaino. Burns coach Paula Toney was chosen by her peers as Coach of the Year.

Senior Mackenzie King joined her Burns teammates Wright and Kaino for first team honors. Vale placed three players on the first team roster including senior Jojo Cleaver, senior Sadie Gravet and junior libero Elise Seals.

After placing third in the league standings, Nyssa ended the season with senior Morgan Johns and senior Belle Wagstaff picking up first team honors.

The honors for Burns continued with second team honors going to sophomore Jocelyn Graham and freshman Bailey Temple. Vale placed two players on second team, senior Wrenna Cooke and senior Brogan Payne. The Lady Pioneers of McLoughlin make second team listing with sophomore Miley Rhoads and Riverside sees Alana Salgado on second team. Nyssa sophomore Chloe Johns also picks up second team listing.

Honorable Mention was presented to Burns players junior Danye Runnels, junior Chloe Rothwell, and junior Myah Rothwell. For Vale, junior McKenna Justice, senior Hallie Peterson and sophomores Theresa Gonzalez and Kelsey Stepleton were named. McLoughlin saw two players on honorable mention, junior Lanie Ellis and senior Jocelyn Arroyo. Riverside libero and junior Yahaira Serrano also received honorable mention. Nyssa added to their honors with sophomore Amity Hartley and senior London Hartley and Umatilla rounded out the listing with senior Leslie Rivera and senior Maddison Rico.

Co-Player of the Year – Ashley Wright (Burns) and Akylah Kaino (Burns)

Coach of the Year – Paula Toney (Burns)

First Team

Second Team

Honorable Mention

Before you go! If you would like to support continuing and expanded high school sports coverage in eastern Oregon for as little as $1 a month click below! Thank you!