1A District 3 Cross Country Leaders

With most teams having a few races behind them, easternoregonsports.com decided to look at the top 10 times to date. To make this easier, we limited the criteria to 5,000-meter races for both men and women.

Although the season is far from over, these are a few of the individuals to watch come state meet time.

Leading the boys is StanfieldEcho junior Sisay Hurty. Hurty is the lone runner to come in under the 17-minute mark, posting a time of 16 minutes, 51.8 seconds.

Union has a trio of three runners posting the next best times. Freshman Taylor Fox is making the best of his first year of high school, clocking in at 17:19.8. Junior Israel O’Reilly has the third best time with a 217:23.2 and the Union trio is completed by senior Andrew Lackey with a time of 17:29.2.

Heppner freshman Trevor Nichols comes in the top five with a time of 17:38.9. Weston-McEwen enters the mix with freshman Alex McIntyre at sixth with a time of 17:50.8. StanfieldEcho senior Rafael Orozco is the final runner under 18 minutes with a time of 17:57.2.

Heppner sophomore Joseph Sherman sits at eighth, just over the 18-minute mark with a best of 18:01.1. Ninth goes to Horizon Christian sophomore Josiah Sohal with 18:16.1 and the top ten rounds out with Adrian sophomore Chase Johnston coming in at 18:34.5.

It should be noted all the runners in the top ten, with the exception of Lackey, have personal bests this season.

Fans of 1A District 3 cross country girls saw the top six times of the season posted at the recent Helix Stubblebuster race.

Enterprise senior Ellyse Tingelstad edges out two Heppner runners, sophomore Hailey Heidman and junior Madelyn Nichols, for the fastest time to date. Tingelstad leads with 20:15.9 while Heidman has a personal best of 20:18.8 and Nichols has a third best time of 20:30.5.

Condon sophomore Kally Wilkins is fourth at 20:31.2 and the top five rounds out with Griswold senior Kaylee Cope and a time of 20:42.8.

Heppner senior Mackenzie Heideman, in sixth, is the final runner under the 21-minute mark at 20:57.0. The first of two Elgin runners, junior Anika Jacobson, has the eighth best time with 22:21.8 and junior Jocelyn Palmer of Elgin is tenth with a time of 22:32.4. Ninth is Griswold junior Karalin Reynolds with a time of 22:31.1.

Unlike the boys, only five of the top ten post personal best times this season. Tingelstad, Nichols, Heideman, Baxter and Palmer all have previous times from other years quicker than this year’s times.